It’s a Bird! It’s a Plane! It’s…

July 29, 2008

A C-172 much like the tutor I'll be flying in
A C-172 much like the tutor I’ll be flying in

…well, actually…it’s a plane.

But not just any plane, mind you, this one belongs to the folks at Brandon Flying Club and they gladly let you fly it while you’re obtaining your pilot’s licence.  In other words, it’s the kind of plane that’s right up my alley.

I spoke with a fellow today from the club who filled me in on what you need to do in order to start training.  First of all, you need to meet all the pre-qualifications; basically, you have to be 16 years old and breathing (so I’m in).

Next at hand was the issue of payment, and it ain’t cheap.  We’re likely looking at about $7000 all-in, likely more.  The gentleman suggested that I work at a pace of two or more flights per week, which would cost on average about $400-500 a week (around $2000/month).  So yeah, I’m not likely going to tackle it at that pace.

I’m going to get a bit of a savings going so that in the summer of next year I will start my flight lessons up, but I hope to get an introductory flight in here sometime in the next few weeks.  If I work it right, I’ll try to get my kids up there with me, or maybe my wife and oldest son (I’m not thinking Andy would be too into this…he’s kind of a “I’ll watch from the ground, thanks” kind-of kid).

Having this list feels really good, but after only a few days I’m realizing that I’m likely going to have to get some capital together to pull this off.  I may even need a budget…

Leave a Reply

